The Need to Move

A couple of hours ago, I went on Facebook. Five minutes later, I was staring at my screen, feeling like I had been punched in the stomach. It all started a while ago, when I went on a two-week holiday to Mongolia. I had a lot of fun and met many awesome people, a couple of them travelers who had been on the road for months. Three of them told me they would be in Mongolia for another week to stay with nomadic families. We all added each other on Facebook, they went on to the next part of their trip and I went home. Then, today, I went online and saw a picture of two girls I had met in Mongolia jumping high in front of an orange-coloured sky. Wading through rivers. Trying their hand at archery. Climbing over rocks. I was so jealous, I felt like I had been punched. I was home, working another endless night shift while they were away, living the adventure of their lives. All I wanted was to be part of that adventure. I’ve always felt the urge to be anywhere but here, to find out what is behind the horizon, but in that moment, when I saw those pictures, it was particularly strong. Two years from now, I will be a long-term traveler, too, and planning that adventure has made life easier for me. I still find it difficult to concentrate on the daily routine when there’s so much out there, waiting to be explored. How can I sit behind a desk when I could try my hands at archery in Mongolia? Or come face to face with a giraffe in Botswana? I always thought wanderlust was something I would grow out of when I got older. But if anything, it has gotten stronger. And I know, the only thing I can do is to go on the road again.

To many more sunsets all around the world
To many more sunsets all around the world
Leave a Reply

