Sail, Sail Away

I don’t think I ever mentioned where I come from. For the past eleven years, I’ve been living in a city in Northern Germany, right next to the Baltic Sea. We got a lot of tourists, more in summer than in winter, and even though I don’t really see the touristy aspect of the city anymore as I’ve been living here for such a long time, there are times of the year when I am reminded that travelling through my own backyard can be rewarding, too.

One of those times is the so-called Hanse Sail, a huge event where sailing ships from all over the world come to Rostock. It’s not too difficult to book a trip on one of them. What makes it a bit special for me is the fact that I get sea-sick so easily, I can’t do it without medication. But with a bit of planning, even I can spend a day out at sea.

This year, we booked the same ship we had already been on a year ago. It’s called De Gallant, it’s a Dutch ship and it’s about 30 meters long with two masts. Our trip started at ten in the morning and we were back in the harbour at about four in the afternoon.

Hanse Sail 1The weather didn’t look too promising when we started and I felt stupid for not having brought a rain jacket. However, we were exceptionally lucky and didn’t see a single drop of rain that day.

Cleaning the cruise ship? Not the kind of job I could ever do.
Cleaning the cruise ship? Not the kind of job I could ever do.

Leaving the harbour took a bit more than an hour and there was quite a bit of traffic. We came past the Aida cruise ship and some incredibly courageous cleaners that apparently don’t have a problem with sea sickness. After an hour of having to use the ship’s engine, we finally made it to the Baltic Sea and that was where everyone was invited to help set the sails.

Damn, that other man was so strong, he made me feel useless.
Damn, that other man was so strong, he made me feel useless.

The crew cut down the engine and everything went silent. Being out there at sea is very relaxing. Fortunately, there were barely any waves and just enough wind to keep us moving so I didn’t feel too sick. At one point, the sun came out behind the clouds and the sky cleared up. The wind was still cold but it was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t want to miss. I’ll be sure to go sailing again next year.

So many sailing ships were out there with us.
So many sailing ships were out there with us.

Hanse Sail 5

My favourite place to be
My favourite place to be
3 thoughts on “Sail, Sail Away

Leave a Reply

