Off to Peru

I know I’ve mentioned that I’m going to Peru soon but I’m so much looking forward to that trip that I wanted to give you an update on what we’re planning on doing.

Our plane leaves Hamburg tomorrow and if everything goes according to plan, we’ll be in Lima late in the evening. Keep your fingers crossed for us that we don’t miss our connection in New York! I know it’s unlikely, but lately, I’ve missed so many connections that it seems like a miracle to me when I actually make one.

We have one day to explore Lima before we’ll fly to Puerto Maldonado, where we’ll then spend three days in a lodge right in the middle of the Amazon. I’m very much looking forward to it.

From Puerto Maldonado, we’ll go on to Cusco to hike the Inca Trail.

Peru - Macchu Picchu
Soon, I can post my own pictures of Macchu Picchu

We have time to explore Cusco and the surrounding valleys, too, so I’ll tell you all about it. Next stop will be Puno near Lake Titicaca and from there it’s back to Lima before we fly home again. Two weeks, as I’ve quickly realised, are not nearly long enough to explore Peru. I would have loved to go to the North or see the Nazca lines but that’ll have to wait until another day.

This trip, as opposed to the one through Myanmar, is an organised one. G Adventures now cooperates with National Geographic and I’m looking forward to seeing what it’s going to be like. I’ve been on trips with G Adventures before but they’ve never been with an upgraded standard (it was the compromise between my friend wanting comfort and me wanting to hike the Inka Trail – she gets comfortable hotels when we don’t camp, I get to hike the trail). I’m curious about the crowd of people this kind of trip attracts and I’m looking forward to some of the activities included by National Geographic. The planetarium in Cusco, for example, is one highlight that stands out to me.

As on my last trip to Myanmar, I will try to post regularly about where I’m going and what I’m seeing. There will be stretches of time without internet so some posts will come later, after I’ve already moved on to a different place. We’ll see how it turns out.

Until then, I hope you all have a great and sunny weekend, wherever you are.

Leave a Reply

