Farming in the Amazon region

I promised you in my last post that I’d tell you more about the local farm we visited in the Amazon because it was an incredible experience.
I had heard about the farming of multiple crops to get the most out of barely fertile soil but I had never seen it before. Not only was it very interesting to learn about it but we also got to try the various fruits they grew there.
At first glance, the farm looked very chaotic.

image

The plants and trees didn’t stand in rows as we had expected but they were mixed and as we made our way across the farm, our guide pointed out the various plants to us.

image

image

To get the nutrients back into the soil, some areas were covered with beans. Other than that, they work by rotation, planting different crops every year and, after a while, letting the land lay bare until it recovers.

image

My favourite part was the fruit tasting.

image

image

Did you know that cacao beans are covered by a slimy white substance that tastes delicious? I loved it! The inside of the beans was a bit too bitter for me but I was surprised to see how purple it looked.

image

So what do you think? Want to go into the jungle yourself? I can highly recommend the Tambopata Ecolodge in Peru where we stayed. They have a website or you can book through G Adventures (where they call it the G Lodge).

Leave a Reply

