How I won a trip to Rio de Janeiro

You know those competitions where you could, in theory, win amazing prices but in reality never do? The ones you participate in because you have nothing else to do but where you don’t believe you’re going to win anything?

For a while, I’ve been reading KLM’s iFly magazine (if you don’t know it yet, you should check it out because they have amazing travel advise). They always have competitions where they offer flights to beautiful places all around the world. I always participated in these competitions, never expecting to win anything.

And then, a couple of weeks ago, I got an e-mail from KLM telling me I had won the bucket list competition. That competition was about naming one item from one’s bucket list and KLM making the impossible possible. I remember writing a short text about hanggliding in Rio but I had never thought that a few months later, KLM would send me a ticket to Rio and money to cover my expenses.

ipanema-beach-99388_1280

So that’s it. I’m going to Rio in a week. In one week exactly, at this time, I’ll be up in the air somewhere over the Atlantic, ready to land after a very long flight.

I’ve only got a week in Rio but from what I’ve gathered, that should be enough to see the city and maybe go on a day trip somewhere. Or maybe take a surfing class. I’ve gone surfing before and I would love to do it again.

And of course, there’s the hanggliding. The whole point of this trip is to go hanggliding in Rio. My hands start sweating and my heart beats faster just at the thought of jumping off a mountain. I’m a bit scared, to be honest. Not as much as I was when I went skydiving. I hope that running off a mountain will be less terrifying than jumping out of a plane (honestly, in my opinion, anyone who is not scared at the idea of jumping out of a plane must be out of their mind). But even though I’m a bit scared, I’m mostly excited. This is a chance for me to do something I love and I’m very much looking forward to it!

glider-420720_1280

My hostel is supposed to have free wifi. Depending on its quality, I will try to keep you updated about what I do. There’s also a video of the whole experience that I’m going to make. One of the conditions of me going on this trip was me making a video and sharing it with KLM and I’ll be glad to do so.

I’ll also be sharing it here, of course. In the meantime, if you have any advise on what I absolutely cannot miss in Rio, please tell me.

6 thoughts on “How I won a trip to Rio de Janeiro

Leave a Reply

