The Dream of Earning Money While Travelling

Have you ever heard of Tim Ferriss and The 4-hour Workweek? It sounds like a dream, doesn’t it? Working for only four hours a week and being able to travel for the rest of the time. When I first stumbled upon him, I didn’t quite understand what he was talking about. It took me a lot of research on passive income to figure out that there were people out there who put in a lot of work and created a source of income that would provide them with money every month.

I don’t believe the dream of passive income is as golden as it looks. Those people work hard and I still believe they’re the lucky ones. Or maybe they’re the most hard-working ones. In any case, it doesn’t seem like a dream I can achieve any time soon.

But during the last weeks, while I was doing research for my round-the-world trip next year and looking up personal finance advise to help me get a decent budget, I came across Ramit Sethi from I Will Teach You to Be Rich. I think it was him who mentioned on his website that the money you can save each month is limited – the money you can make is not.

So after lots more research, I decided to go with a risk-free method and started preparing to publish my first class on Skillshare. I initially wanted to make them travel-themed but that didn’t seem very practical. Cooking was a far better skill.

I have created a blog about how it went, because this blog is and will always be about travelling.

And today, I published my first class.

I know that I’m not going to make a living through Skillshare. I’m probably not even going to make a lot of money. It was still fun to record the class, so it was worth it. And deep down, the hope remains that I will get enrollments even while I’m on the road, which would mean a small monthly pay. My first passive income.

Leave a Reply

