Trip Around the World

As I’m writing this, I’m thinking about last-minute preparations before I’m leaving tomorrow. I’ve quit my job, or rather, have not asked for a new contract after my last one ran out mid-May. I’ve sold most of my furniture and have put my kitchen and my wardrobe into storage. I’ve given up my flat and painted every single wall white again, until my palms were sore with blisters from the hard work. I’ve squeezed my last few belongings into a car and taken with me to my parents, where I’m currently sitting on their couch and waiting to start my trip.

My plan is to travel around the world for a whole year, but the end date is not set in stone yet. I keep telling myself that I’ll be back at the end of June 2018 but of course, I couldn’t buy a return ticket yet. And I’m glad I couldn’t, because I don’t want to miss that feeling of leaving without knowing how long I’ll be gone.

Despite all that, I do have some plans and my trip is pretty structured already. Some of the flight routes I’ve chosen book out early (Easter Islands, are a good example), so I’ve booked as many of my international plane tickets as I could.

Tomorrow afternoon, I’ll take a plane to Turkmenistan’s capital, Ashgabat, where I’ll go on a two-months trip along the Silk Road. It’ll take me through Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Kazachstan, Kyrgyzstan and China. I’ll finish in Beijing at the beginning of August. Next stop will be South Korea, before I’ll continue to Nepal to hike the Annapurna Circuit Trek.

I’ll leave Asia in the middle of September to spend a couple of days with a friend in Australia. From there, I’ve booked a flight to Tahiti. I’ll only spend eight days there – and a whole month’s budget, if the information I’ve found on the internet and in guidebooks is right. The Pacific is a pretty expensive region!

From Tahiti, there’s a direct flight to the Easter Island that leaves every Tuesday morning at 3am. I’ve booked that flight so I can meet my friend there in early October. We’ll then continue on to mainland South America where we’ll spend at least half a year.

For Christmas, I’ll be coming home. Flights from South America are ridiculously expensive, but spending the holidays with my family will be worth it. Besides, it’ll be nice to take a break and stock up on stuff like clean t-shirts, sunscreen and insect repellent that I’m not allergic to.

My friend and I have lose plans of making our way through Central America, all the way up to Cancun. But that’s so far in the future, we’ll take it as we get there.

1 - Karte

Oh yes, we’ll be travelling to Patagonia and to the Galapagos Islands, too. That’s all in 2018 and I’ll make sure to keep you updated.

But first of all, I’m looking forward to Central Asia. I’ll be travelling along the Silk Road on an overlanding truck. We’ll be camping about half of the time and I doubt there’ll be many places with good internet access along the way. But if there are, I’ll make sure to come online and post about my latest adventures.

I’ll see you then!

2 thoughts on “Trip Around the World

Leave a Reply

